The Firearms Forum banner

i need honest opinions on this press!!!

3K views 34 replies 18 participants last post by  zant 
#1 ·
how can i go wrong with this press? im looking for something small to start off with. the dillon rl550b would be my dream press but im gonna have to work my way up to it. i was looking to buy a used rcbs but i cant even touch one for less then $90 but at that point i might as well buy a brand new one for $129 at turners. this lee set up includes a ton of stuff for only 89.99whats your oponion on lee? i would like to reload mainly .223 for my ar. 38 special. 9mm and 7.62x39......thanks in advance

Attachments

See less See more
#4 ·
start up kit. im new to reloading just read my first couple books. been saving brass. now looking to begin reloading. looking for the best bang for my book. but also best bang for my time if that makes sense. my time is somewhat kind of limited. ill be doing things in chapters.

#6 ·
Everyone is different but my opinion:

If your time is limited I just am giving you the heads up - save up and buy a progressive.
Don't bother with a single stage your just going to want to replace it within a few months of using it anyhow. Just take the plunge and count your pennies. You will be happier in the long run.

BTW - I load on my dillon550 and can crank out 200-300 rounds an hour and that's with taking my time to check and double check.

#7 ·
imo, you should learn on a single stage...

if you load pistol, you will want a progressive eventually, and when you do take a look at the Hornady LnL AP which you can't beat on a $ for $ value basis, and quality as well...

i would save up another $150 and get an RCBS kit ($250), it gives you all the equipment you need to get started and it will all last...

#8 ·
i have a 1 year old daughter that i watch all day so this is my game plan. for my .223.

phase 1) throw all my brass in the tumbler (while shes awake)