I want to purchase my first handgun, seeking advice

Discussion in 'Centerfire Pistols & Revolvers' started by WilliamCombs, Nov 23, 2009.

1. WilliamCombs

WilliamCombs New Member

Hey everyone. I am about to purchase my first handgun. I have experience shooting, although not extensive. I've been around firearms my entire life, with my grandfather and father owning several. Recently, I worked for an outdoors marketing company who had a contract with Smith & Wesson, so I've handled and cleaned almost every firearm S&W makes. My budget is about $350-$400 as I'm currently a law student with a very limited budget. I want to find something reliable for that price that would serve me well at the range consistently.

A friend has directed me to the Smith & Wesson Sigma SW40VE. He owns one and says it's a great gun and he has altered the trigger to reduce the pull weight. My preferred gun is the Springfield XD40, but I think it's out of my price range. Still early in my research. I want to go about this process in a good way to get what's right for me. Any suggestions would be great.

Any suggestions on how to go about shopping would be great too. Online purchase? Store? Gun show? Thanks for any help.
  2. oscarmayer

oscarmayer New Member

there have been a few post here about the s&w sigma, my advice would be go to a gun range that has rentals, try out a few different guns and go from there. hard to pick a gun for someone else , it's a personal choice. dont rule out a good revolver or something used, in the used market you can save alot of money. now back to the sigma and remmber this is just a opinion they're not highly rated or well thought of, if you must have a plastic gun the springfield or the glock are much better choices
  3. ARB

ARB New Member

Welcome, WilliamCombs!:) With that price range, I'd try pawn shops or the paper. The folks here say that the High Points are good shooters. Ugly, as sin though. Cheap. Good luck!
  4. WilliamCombs