I'm new to all this, have a self-defense ammo question

Discussion in 'Self Defense Tactics & Weapons' started by WildcatFan, Oct 26, 2009.

1. WildcatFan

WildcatFan New Member

I need to stock some high-end self-defense rounds. I'm on cheaperthandirt.com. What rounds should I be considering?
    Thanks.
  2. user

user New Member

Northern piedmont of Va. and Middle of Nowhere, We
    You can't do wrong with Federal Hydrashock or Hornady XTP. A bit more recoil with the latter. You can buy more expensive stuff, but the increment of value added is minimal.
  3. Lotsdragon

Lotsdragon New Member

Yeah love the hydrashock for self defense got a box thats about 10 years old cause I have never felt the need for it. Well except for a couple of evil pumpkins that is.
  4. WildcatFan

WildcatFan New Member

Thanks, guys. What about these Winchester Black Talons - can I get 'em? Are they expensive and, if so, how much?
  5. Lost One

Lost One New Member

You can get them but you will pay a premium for it, I dont see why buying the name would help other than to empty the wallet some. When Winchester did away with the black talon the SXT came into play, I have both still and keep them for my carry gun. There is now the Winchester Ranger SXT series that I believe has taken over for the Black Talon/SXT they keep renaming it basically and slightly changing the looks but its still their premium defense ammo.

If you want to get some good defense ammo you may also want to consider Remington Golden saber, it and winchester are about the same when put against each other in tests and the Remington is easy to find. I have it loaded in some of my mags as well.

What ever you get make sure to get enough to test it in the gun, some guns are funny about what they will take and when the SHTF isnt the time to find out your gun doesn't like it.
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2009
  6. RJay

RJay Active Member