Info on 2 belgian revolvers?

Discussion in 'Curio & Relics Forum' started by ctr1, Nov 13, 2012.

1. ctr1

ctr1 New Member

Hi all,
    I'm a newbie on here sorry if this post is in the wrong place. I recently got these from my dad my grandfather brought these back from wwII after the battle of the bulge he passed several years ago and I would like to know if any one could give me info on them. I know the largest on is a Gasser I fired it with my dad 30 years ago it shoots great its 38cal. or 9mm . The other one I would be scared to fire without taking it and getting it checked out its a 32or 7mm cal pocket pistol of some sort. both in the mid to late 1800s. Any info would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Attached Files:

2. 45Auto

45Auto Active Member

The first one looks like a Gasser Kropotcheck(sp?) 9mm officer's revolver. It's a cut above the Belgian copies because it's an original Gasser made in Vienna, Austria.

The second revolver is a rather common Belgian pocket revolver. It could have been made in the early 20th century. Some of these Belgian revolvers are chambered for .320 which we call .32 Short Colt. Others are chambered for .32 S&W and a few were made to fire .32 ACP. It looks like your revolver has a broken trigger return spring and it might have other problems as well. Get it checked out before trying to shoot it. See if this revolver has any proof marks on the breach end of the cylinder. Depending upon the type of Liege proof mark it may be possible to narrow down the date of production.
  3. ctr1

ctr1 New Member

Thanks very much 45Auto for the info. Yes the spring is broken on the pocket revolver and It has way more play in the cylinder than I think could be safe to fire However other revolver shot well 30 years ago before it was put away wondered how rare the officers revolver is .
  4. Jim K

Jim K New Member