Info on reloading equipment

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Patriot1, Sep 17, 2009.

1. Patriot1

Patriot1 New Member

Okay, I'm a rookie at reloading....never saw the need until recently.
    Anyway, I just bought a Lee reloader kit. I like it, but I was just wondering whether RCBS dies or any others would work with the Lee press.

Thanks for any info or comments.
  2. DWARREN123

DWARREN123 New Member

Most modern dies for the same calibers have the same diameter and threads.
  3. Patriot1

Patriot1 New Member

Appreciate the info. I was looking for dies for 38 special/357 rounds.
    I may try the RCBS dies, if they fit..

Thanks again,
    Patriot1
  4. woolleyworm

woolleyworm Active Member

The Lee carbide dies will do the job every bit as well as RCBS and cost you less. Unless it's just an availability issue, I've never had any problems from Lee's carbide dies. In fact, Midway has the 4 die set available -
    Lee Deluxe Carbide 4-Die Set 38 Special, 357 Magnum
    Product #: 309802

Its about $3 less than RCBS's carbide 3 die set.

I would say that for the money, it's hard to beat Lee's DIES. They've proven to me to be a good value. Presses are a long beaten dead horse story. just my .02
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2009
  5. vulcrider

vulcrider New Member

I have the RCBS die set. I found that adjusting was much more difficult than my Lee dies. In fact, I replaced the lock rings with Lee rings and O-rings and purchased a Lee factory crimp die to complete the set. Paid way more for all than just getting the Lee dies in the first place! But, you live and learn, for the money it is hard to beat Lee.
  6. Terry_P

Terry_P New Member