Is .32 cal the same size as .32S&WL?

Discussion in 'Technical Questions & Information' started by DavidKymo, Jan 5, 2017.

1. DavidKymo

DavidKymo New Member

I have a H&R 732 with a 4" barrel .32 S&W Long. I want to put a 2 1/2" barrel that just says 32 cal.
    Is it the same diameter and will it work? What .32 bullet would NOT fit?

2. gdmoody

gdmoody Moderator Supporting Member

I am not an expert in any thing, but I do believe the .32 is a .32 is a .32!! The .32 is the diameter of the bullet and a quick look at one of my reloading manuals shows that the diameter of a .32 S&W is the same as a modern .32 ACP and that diameter is .337 inches.

carver likes this.

3. Alpo

Alpo Well-Known Member

Don't know what manual you were looking at, George, but a 32 pistol uses either a .311 or a .313 bullet.

Yes, David, it will work,

carver likes this.
  4. sharps4590

sharps4590 Well-Known Member

Slug them both and remove all doubt.

jim brady, carver and Grizzley1 like this.
  5. Shrek73

Shrek73 Active Member

.32 S&W, .32 S&W Long, .32 H&R Magnum and .327 Federal Magnum all use .312 diameter jacketed bullets, and .313-.314 lead bullets. The only difference is Case Over All Length. .32 ACP uses a .311 diameter jacket bullet.

You should be able to shoot down the calibers, just not up it. If you do shoot .32 S&W thru it, just know your chambers will foul up and you may not be able to shoot .32 S&W Longs till you clean the chambers.

carver likes this.
  6. gdmoody

gdmoody Moderator Supporting Member

I guess I was looking at the diameter of the mouth of the brass, but still a .32 is a .32 is a .32, no matter what I was looking at.

7. Shrek73

Shrek73 Active Member