1. Get Gear'd Up! Enter to WIN $1000 in gear!

Please Click Here for full details and to enter. You will need to be registered and logged in to view the details and to participate.

Thanks and good luck to everyone

Is it worth it?

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by gunfreakboy, Mar 16, 2006.

1. gunfreakboy

gunfreakboy New Member

I was at the local gunshop today and saw a High Standard Field King 22 for sale. They have a $279.00 price tag on it and I was wondering if its a fair price. It looked in pretty good shape. The bore looked good and the wood grips were nice. Is there anything else I should look for? They also had a Ruger Mark III for the same price (new) but I really like the feel of the Field King. I am still fairly new to purchasing and any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.
  2. To each his own, Gun, but I would go with the Ruger in a New York minute, if for no other reason than reputation and service.
  3. inplanotx

inplanotx New Member

The first thing you need to tell us is the barrel length. The second is if it is a first model or a second model or the third model. The third thing is it's amount of blueing left in percentage. The price is very inviting and as it is below this models worth at 80% condition. These HS pistols are getting into collectors hands and staying there.

It will outshoot any Ruger ever imagined and still be worth more than a Ruger when time takes its toll. I'd buy it in a hearbeat if the condition warrants it. I have several HS pistols and I would not trade one for ten Rugers and all will outshoot the Ruger any day of the week.

This gun was manufactured in the 1950's depending on the series of pre-100 (lever name series), 100, or 101.\

The serial number would help in identiying it.
  4. gunfreakboy

gunfreakboy New Member