Ithica dbl. Flues?

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by jack.54@hotmail.com, Sep 7, 2006.

1. jack.54@hotmail.com

jack.54@hotmail.com New Member

I've acquired a ithica dbl. which belonged to my great-grandfather. Based on the serial #338543 I believe it is a 1919 flues model. Can you tell from this number What the gauge,chokes, and shell size are? The markings which I see are; Smokeless powder Steel, setters engraved on both sides. I do not see any ref. to gauge etc. Barrels are 28" long. To take down do I remove the screw from forestock and remove? Thanks in advance for information.
  2. Xracer

Xracer *TFF Admin Staff Mediator*

Well Jack......I'm no expert on high end Ithacas, but according to the Shotgunworld.com website, #338543 is, indeed, a 1919 Flues Model.

No way to tell from the serial # what the gauge, choke or shell size are, but if you take it to a local gunsmith, he can probably tell you from a quick examination.....and for just a few $$$$, he can check it out and see if it's safe to shoot.

These early Ithaca doubles can be pretty valuable guns, and are certainly worth a few $$$$$ to have them checked out by a gunsmith. Some were made for blackpowder, and some are safe with modern smokeless powder loads. A decent gunsmith can tell you which, and what, you have.
  3. jack.54@hotmail.com

jack.54@hotmail.com New Member

Thanks for the confirmation. That's exactly what I'll do. Jack
  4. wonderwhippet

wonderwhippet Active Member

If you remove the wooden forearm I expect you will see markings underneath which will tell you the guage and chokes.
  5. Hammerdown

Hammerdown New Member

Hello Jack