Iver Johnson 32 Purple Gang Gun?

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by dwagner825, Apr 26, 2012.

1. dwagner825

dwagner825 New Member

Here is the story behind this gun. My great uncle was George Timiney who was the Captain of the Vice Squad in Toledo Ohio during prohibition. He was tasked in ridding the town of the Purple gang and their criminal activities. 12 years ago before my grandmother passed, I was given this gun that was in her attic. She told me my great uncle had given this to my grandfather. He told him at the time early 1930's he had taken it from a purple gang member after an arrest. I am a current officer in Toledo and know that these types of activities would not take place today but were probably the norm back then. Is this gun of the right era? Serial number on the bottom of the grip frame is 580xx. Patent dates can be seen in the pictures of Apr 6 85, Feb 15 87, May 10 87, Dec 26 88. Thanks in advance for any help.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Apr 27, 2012
  2. Hammerslagger

Hammerslagger New Member

Your pics did not make the trip. I have little knowledge of old IJ's. The serial # on the bottom of the trigger guard is usually not complete. You have to remove the grips and look at the left side of the frame, usually. That all being said, the patent dates make it appear that this revolver would have been around in the 1920's.
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2012
  3. dwagner825

dwagner825 New Member

Not sure why the pics didn't go through. Here is the direct link to my Flickr account. There are three total pics. just select "newer" for the other two.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/76157827@N08/6970749712/

I have removed the grips and there are no numbers or letters anywhere on the frame.
  4. hrf

hrf Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forum: