1. Get Gear'd Up! Enter to WIN $1000 in gear!

Please Click Here for full details and to enter. You will need to be registered and logged in to view the details and to participate.

Thanks and good luck to everyone

Iver Johnson 38 5 shot

Discussion in 'Technical Questions & Information' started by gatsbee, Aug 16, 2009.

1. gatsbee

gatsbee New Member

I am a novice gun buyer and just bought an Iver Johnson 38 5 shot revolver at a gun show. It was made in Fitchburg and seems to be nickel except for the trigger guard which is blue and it has mother of pearl grips and a leaf spring trigger. It seems to be in generally good condition

I'd be curious to know how old it is. The serial number from under the grip is T13558.

From some of the other posts I've read it seems that I will not be able to use this weapon with modern ammo which is disappointing since I was hoping to do a little target shooting and then put it away for personal protection (god forbid I ever need it) Is there no way to purchase special ammo?

I paid $150.00 for it. Was I taken?
  2. b.goforth

b.goforth New Member

this is a late second model serial number T13558 was manufactured in 1907

SECOND MODEL SAFETY AUTOMATIC HAMMER REVOLVER
    (Black Powder Cartridges)------------1896-1908