Iver Johnson Champion 12g

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by DBjr, Nov 10, 2009.

1. DBjr

DBjr New Member

Hello,

I'm new to this and I can post pictures of the gun in a few days. I would just like to get started on gathering information on a shotgun I acquired.

I have a 12 gauge Iver Johnson with the serial number 39269.

On one side of the action it has:

Iver Johnson
    Arm & Cycle Works

Made in Cobourg

12 Gauge Bore choke

I'm looking for:

What I can shoot through it, if I should.
    There era
    $ Worth

The gun is in good shape the break action is tight and has been in the previous owner’s basement for at least twenty years. It needs a really good cleaning but other than that it looks great.

Much appreciated,

Doug
  2. b.goforth

b.goforth New Member

the canadian marked iver johnson shotgun are hard to date because not enough of them have turned up in the states to build a data base. there is some disagreement at the present as to weather or not they were actually manufactured in canada or just shipped to Cobourg to be marked and sold. there are some that have Montreal marking also. generally speaking iver johnson single barrel shotgun without any suffixes to the serial number were manufactured between 1910 and 1921, but i don't know how the canadian marked ones fit into the accepted serial number range.

CHAMPION MODEL 36-------------------------------------------1909-1922