Iver Johnson Safety Automatic Hammer .38 Blued (w/ Hi Res Digital Photos)

Discussion in 'Technical Questions & Information' started by J. W. Hammac, Sep 21, 2009.

1. J. W. Hammac

J. W. Hammac New Member

Greetings, I recently visited a Gun Show in search of a value priced Pistol. Saw quite a bit to choose from, however, at the end of the day, I was the proud new owner of an Iver Johnson Safety Automatic Hammer in .38 S&W.

For over 6 hours I scrutinized every detail to be sure the pistol was in good functioning order (apart from firing the pistol). I studied everything I could and today I would like to know when it was made, but my prior study on these forums make me hypothesize that it is a Second Model.

According to the prior owner whom sold it to me, the pistol was sold to him without a cylinder and took it to a Gunsmith for one to be installed and fitted (It appears to be a cylinder from a nickel plated version, but I could be wrong). When the pistol was returned to him by the gunsmith, there were five spent casing in the cylinder. I was not told (and I was stupid for not asking) when this occurred. The bore was unusually crisp as was the firing pin upon further inspection and operation is very quiet and smooth. Barrel is 3¼ Inches long.

Images follow showing Right and left sides as well as the Top Rib (with caption of what is exactly on that part), Butt (again with typing to clarify illegible points in the photo), and full Serial Number with letter prefix that was under the left grip panel (captioned with serial for legibility).

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    Top Rib - Reads:
    IVER JOHNSON'S ARMS & CYCLE WORKS◊
    —FITCHBURG. MASS. U. S. A.—

[​IMG]
    Butt - Reads:
    |X|PAT.JUNE.16.96.AUG.25.96|X|
    —<PAT'S PENDING>—

[​IMG]
    Serial Number with Letter Prefix - Reads:
    T28748