Iver Johnson Woman's Revolver w/Bone Handle

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by annepark, Nov 8, 2007.

1. annepark

annepark New Member

I just purchased this revolver as part of a estate sale and I have little knowledge of guns and would like to know if anyone could help me with it's value...
    thanks so much,
    anne
  2. b.goforth

b.goforth New Member

anne,
    99% of all iver johnson's handguns have markings other than the company name. even the company name was marked different at different times. start at the top what are the markings either on the top of the barrel or the top of the frame? are there any markings on the left or right side of the barrel? are there any markings on the left or right side of the frame below the cylinder? serial number bottom of the butt, front of grip strap or is it under the grip on the left side?

the only iver johnson model that i know of that can be described as having factory bone grips is the model 50 'sidewinder' manufactured between 19961 and 1978. it has imitation stag (tenite plastic) grips that are one piece attached to grip frame by a single screw at the back of the grips.
    bill
  3. Xracer

Xracer *TFF Admin Staff Mediator*

Hi Anne.....welcome to TFF.

Bill Goforth is our resident expert on all things "Iver Johnson", so I'll defer to his expertise.....but....I'm wondering if your "Woman's Revolver" might not be what the Standard Catalog of Firearms lists as:

Iver Johnson Petite: A .22 short caliber double-action folding trigger revolver with a 1" barrel and 7-shot cylinder. Nickle-plated with rubber grips. Introduced in 1909.

Does it have a 1" barrel? Does it have a folding trigger?

Can you post some pictures of it? Full length, right and left sides?
  4. annepark

annepark New Member

Hi there,
    I finally have some photos that may help...I'll write what's on the gun since it's hard to get it all in focus.
    Please let me know if you can identify/price it!