Just Getting Started In Reloading

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Guest, Feb 24, 2003.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

DarkStar11Redux
    (1/7/02 12:18:50 am)
    Reply | Edit | Del All Just Getting Started In Reloading
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    OK so I'm new to 1911's and reloading......

I bought a Lee Deluxe Turret Press Kit a year ago and never did anything with it, due to time and space. One of my close shooting buddy's has a spare room that he is converting to a gun room for us to use. I'm planning on setting up my reloading press there, which isn't the ideal situation, but is what is available.

so here are my questions:
    1) since I bought this press, Lee came out with a 4-die model. What's the 4th die for? Do I need it?

2) I'm starting with .357 Mag only because I figure it is safer to reload for a revolver than an auto starting out. Why? Gut instinct. Is there any basis in this or am I just crazy?

3) I'm sure I'll have many more questions, so we'll just save #3 for a later date. :)

shooter22
    (1/7/02 1:57:42 am)
    Reply | Edit | Del Re: Just Getting Started In Reloading
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Darkstar, I am glad you are getting into reloading. I am not real familiar with the Lee, but I would say that it is for either a bell case mouth expander if you use that, or for the crimper if you use a separate one like a taper crimp for automatics. More than likely it is for the tapercrimp.

If you are reloading with a die that has a crimp built in, (once again, I don't know Lee) You will not need the taper crimper.