Kinber Warranty

Discussion in 'The 1911 Forum' started by durk, Nov 14, 2006.

1. durk

durk New Member

I am thinking of buying a kimber 1911 but the warranty surprised me somewhat. I am pretty new at buying guns so I might be way off base thinking that the warranty should be, IMO better or longer. Is this the norm?
    I noticed that Taurus has a lifetime warranty. That's my kinda warranty. I know allot of folks on this forum own kimbers & I don't mean to step on anyones toes but if these guns are so good why does the mfg. not stand behind them a little more? When I bought my new Honda I was asked if I wanted the extended warranty. I said why, these cars are supposed to last forever, right? Then I said no to the $$$$ extended warranty. Have many of you guys & gals had to send their guns back to kimber after the one year warranty was up or do these guns not need a long warranty? I really want one or more of these guns. Maybe, if something is going to go wrong it will go wrong within the one year?
  2. LDBennett

LDBennett Well-Known Member

Durk:

Have you seen the new Taurus 1911 model. It comes with all the features you pay premium bucks for in a Kimber, has the lifetime warrantee, and cost in the under $600 range. This kind of gun if it shoots well will certainly hurt Kimber sales. I had a Taurus PT99 for years with no problems except for the rear sight whose blade kept coming off until I "fixed "it properly. Taurus makes good guns! If I were in the market for a 1911 I'd sure investigate it!

LDBennett
  3. Taurus has certainly come a very long way over the last few years, LD. If they keep up the way they are going, they will definitely be giving Smith, Ruger, Kimber, and others a run for their money. The ones I've purchased have all proven to be highly servicable weapons.
  4. durk

durk New Member