knight lk-93

Discussion in 'Black Powder Shooting / Muzzleloaders / Handguns' started by csimp3, Aug 23, 2007.

1. csimp3

csimp3 New Member

i have a bear hunt coming up in 3 weeks and i have decided i am going to try to take my bear with a black powder. the gun i have is a knight lk-93 .50 cal. with a synthetic camo stock with a thumb hole. im very new to black powder, we have had this gun for a few years now, and it has never been fired. i went out tonight and bought 295 grain hollow-point power belt bullets, triple seven pellets, firing caps, a cleaning jig and some cleaner, is there anything else i need? and what should i know about black powder in general? any shooting or loading tips? anything willl be appreciated, thanks
  2. armedandsafe

armedandsafe Guest

Sorry to be so late getting back to you, but it has been a little hectic here, what with school starting back up.

Whatever you do, have backup with you. Either another hunter with another gun, of a good, big-bore pistol. Bears are large, tough animals and don't go down easily. Don't try for a distance shot, which means you will be fairly close to the bear when you shoot. Bears are very fast and can cover 50 yards to get to you in an amazingly short time.

Work up a good, accurate load for those bullets, working on the heavy side, rather than on the absolute accuracy side. That is important, not only to get the rifle sighted in and a balanced load, but to give you some practice with your rifle. I would start at 90 grains and work up to 110 grains.

I'm not sure about the pellets, particularly in 777. I've read too many reports that they are hard to ignite and especially so in side locks. Many people are reporting they have to drop about 20 grains of loose powder in first to insure ignition. Use magnum caps if you decide to stay with the pellets.