Lead Bullets

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by jpg5324, Jun 12, 2012.

1. jpg5324

jpg5324 Member

Has anyone had problems with reloading lead bullets....I was reading some where that lead bullets cause problems in reloading presses...is this true.:confused:
  2. todd51

todd51 Well-Known Member

jpg, I have been loading lead bullets for around 35 years and have had no problems. I have to clean the die due to build up of lube from the bullet with some brands of bullets I have used in the past but that is not really a problem. I don't know what they would be referring to in the way of problems.
  3. X Ring

X Ring Member

I also have had no problem, other than the aforementioned maintenance, loading thousands of lead bullets over the past 30 years.
  4. myfriendis410

myfriendis410 Member

Some dies don't expand pistol cases enough to accept cast bullets that may be a bit larger than jacketed. This can cause cases to catch on the heel and collapse or cut a ring off the bullet. Usually this is an easy fix and cast bullets sure are cheaper to shoot--especially if you cast 'em yourself.
  5. jack404

jack404 Former Guest

i ran into a guy who hated loading with lead , but could not explain what his issue was

point questions totally ignored so i dunno

i've loaded lead for 22-250's through to .45 ACP

no real hassles , i was burring some up but that was a loose lock ring i stupidly put in the wrong place but being lead i pulled em remelted them and cast em again , no worries
  6. howlnmad

howlnmad Well-Known Member

Other than lube build-up, nope, never had a problem.
  7. DixieLandMan

DixieLandMan Member

I had problems with some that I casted. Not sure why they did not function properly but they were jamming up or not ejecting completely. This was in a 9mm. Went to other LRN or FMJ and JHP and not a problem with any of them.
  8. jpg5324

jpg5324 Member

Thanks for the feed back.
    I have some .38's that I want to load with SWC.