Lead Bullets??

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Shellback, Aug 14, 2008.

1. Shellback

Shellback New Member

Why is it not recomended to load lead bullets in auto loaders I have been loading jacketed bullets to plink with and I could sure save a small fortune if I used lead. I am also getting set up to start casting 12 gauge slugs and sabots, I have a unlimited supply of lead and good clean lead, I am a plumber and we use lead for flashings on commercial buildings so there is always lotsa left overs, I probably have 150lbs rat holed in my shop and thats alot of shootning.. thanks in advance
    Tim
  2. Bindernut

Bindernut Well-Known Member

I run quite a bit of lead through my autoloaders (Makarovs and a few 1911s).
    Not had any problems with any of those except for a box-stock Commander I had a few years back that wouldn't feed the truncated cone style (but it had a hard time with TC shaped jacketed bullets too).
    I do get some lead shavings built up in the action from bullets on the feed ramp and chamber on the 1911s but not enough to cause any trouble since they get cleaned after a good range session anyway.
    On my two Maks in .380, they are both very accurate with a 100grTC bullet and that's my prefered small-game load...they'll spank cottontails like a hammer compared to FMJ and doesn't tear up meat like JHPs do.

As for other brands/models, I can't speak for em. A friend tried loading lead round nose for his Taurus 92 9mm, but didn't find an accurate load and he had a lot of barrel leading. Not sure of all the specifics on that case though...was a few years back.

Might be worth buying a few boxes of pre-made cast to give it a try before you invest the money into the moulds and sizing setup for your pistols (I'm assuming you've already got plans on a pot since you're talking about casting slugs too).
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2008
  3. Shellback

Shellback New Member