Learning to reload?

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by ARB, May 8, 2009.

1. ARB

ARB New Member

I have been interested for a while in the proccess of reloading. Just a couple of questions. How do you go about getting into it? Is it self taught? It seems that there could be some dire consequences or maybe just trial and error. Example: At the range the gentleman next to me was shooting reloads and powder was going everywhere. A older man that apparently knew what he was talking about came up to him and started giving him some do's and dont's, politely of course.
  2. army mp

army mp Member

you have come to a great place to start, saying that, the very first thing you need is a good reloading manual. Lyman, lee. Hornady, any of these will get you started. Read the Manual then decide if its something you want to do. Its not for everyone. But if you decide its something you want to do. It can be very addictive, and expensive
  3. gdmoody

gdmoody Moderator Supporting Member

Reloading is pretty much self taught. As mp says, start out with a manual and read it, better yet get a couple of manuals and them. The learning stuff is in the first 75 to 100 pages and the rest of the book is load data.

The next step would be choosing and buying your equipment. Every person who reloads has an opinion on what brand of press to buy, just look at some of the threads and you will see what I mean. I will not make any recommendations, at this time.

Once you start reloading, you will find that every once in a while you have to buy a new gun in a different caliber so you can reload for it. Reloading is almost as addicting as TFF is.
  4. TranterUK

TranterUK Guest

Very sound advice above. As an old reloader I have been surprised by the amount of information on the internet, from the manufacturers of the equipment. I wanted some powder info, and found exactly what I wanted very quickly.