The Firearms Forum banner

Lee Bullet Feeder Question on 40 S&W

3K views 4 replies 4 participants last post by  Chuckelz 
#1 ·
Hi, I am a newbie on this forum and pretty much to reloading, although I did reload 30-30 for my Marlin way back when.

I have read and re-read about progressive loaders and do not want this to be a Ford vs Chevy. I have settled on a Lee Pro 1000 due to expense and only loading 40 S&W, although that Hornady Lock-n-Load with the bullet rebate is very tempting.

My question has to do with the Lee Bullet feeder, there are 2 options for the 40 caliber.

40 cal through .44 cal up to .65 long
40 cal through .44 cal .65 to .80 long

I have check and re-checked and can not find where the length of the 40 caliber is documented. I am sure that the length has to do with the weight of the bullet, the heavier the longer?

Am I correct in assuming that a 165 gr 40 caliber bullet would be .65 long and that a 180 gr 40 caliber bullet would be .80 long?

It is quite possible that I might pick up a cowboy rifle that shoots 44 mag, so getting one bullet feeder that would handle both would be good. Also, I plan on reloading mostly for target shooting using FMJ and saving the factory hollow points for the zombie encounters!

I appreciate some help on this. Thanks

See less See more
#2 ·
From doing a lot of reading on the various forums regarding the Lee Bullet Feeder, I would say don't waste your money on it-more trouble than it is worth. Fingers on the bullet feeder aren't strong enough to hold the .40 bullets.

#3 · (Edited)
From doing a lot of reading on the various forums regarding the Lee Bullet Feeder, I would say don't waste your money on it-more trouble than it is worth. Fingers on the bullet feeder aren't strong enough to hold the .40 bullets.