Lee Factory crimp die for 9mm Luger - Necessary??

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by SamoyedGuy, Oct 20, 2012.

1. SamoyedGuy

SamoyedGuy New Member

I'm brand new to reloading because of worries about the availability of ammunition. I am going to start with 9mm Luger. I have Winchester 115 gr JHP bullets. since these are for a semi-auto they don't have cannelures. Lee included the factory crimp die for the fourth station of the classic turret press. I've seen an article in the Lyman 49th edition about roll crimping being a problem with head-space in some cartridges. Is this something I should skip?

Also the 380 die set doesn't include a factory crimp die; that is sold separately. Should I order on when I buy the 380 ACP die set or just not worry about a final crimp?

Sorry for asking what I suspect may be a very ignorant question but I want to feel safe when reloading or shooting my reloads.

:confused:
  2. Alpo

Alpo Well-Known Member

The Factory Crimp Die is not necessary. People loaded for years before they were invented. But they sure are nice.

Now, don't confuse "crimp" with "roll-crimp". They are two different things.

To crimp a case is to do something to it to make it grip the bullet tighter. "Roll crimp" is one of three different ways to do this.

Most automatic pistol cartridges use a "taper crimp". The taper crimp is built into the seating die (just as the roll-crimp shoulder is built into the seating die of a revolver set).

This shows a roll-crimp. It's a rifle case, but it works the same with pistol.

[​IMG]

This is a reloading die, cut in half. See the two areas that are circled? Notice how they curve inward? When the case is shoved up into the die, the case mouth hits that area (called the "crimping shoulder") and it literally "rolls" the case mouth inward into the bullet.