Lee factory crimp die (is it necessary)

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by BillyD9, Mar 3, 2010.

1. BillyD9

BillyD9 New Member

I didn't know if I wanted to reload or not, so I got in as cheap as I could via a Lee kit for $86.00. Make it $130.00 with the dies for a 45-70 and shipping. I decided to stick with one powder, one bullet, and one primer until I knew more about what I was doing. Anyway, I loaded my first ammo last night using the same bullet Hornady uses in their Leverevolution ammo. One of my bullets is, to the eye, identical to theirs. Now, somebody says I need Lee's "factory crimp". I can't see it, but maybe somebody knows more than I do?
  2. todd51

todd51 Well-Known Member Supporting Member

Billy, I have no experience loading the 45-70 (think Old Semperfi shoots and loads them alot). I just got my factory crimp dies and am still getting used to them. So far I like the idea a lot. Do you need them? No. Are they nice to have? So far I would say yes. But my .45 Colt reloads made with Lee's regular three die set came out just fine and when I ran them through the properly adjusted FCD there was no changes made in sizing the case or changing the crimp. That was not the case with my 9mm and .38spl.

My .45 brass has not been shot all that many times and with low power loads at that so the case length had not changed. That is not the case with the .38s as some of them have been shot and reloaded many times. Getting the bullet seating depth and the roll crimp just right can be a pain unless the cases are all trimmed to length. That factory crimp die eliminates that hassle.
  3. Alpo

Alpo Well-Known Member