The Firearms Forum banner

Lee Turret Press - Accuracy

2K views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  slimboy 
#1 ·
Hi I am new to reloading and have just purchased the Lee Turret Press Kit.
Problem is i am using the auto disk powder charger that was included in the kit and i cannot get it to load consistent powder charges. I am loading Hogdon Varget Powder and get up to a 1 grain difference on the lee beam scales.
Can anybody offer any advice? BTW I am loading 30 grain loads

#2 ·
A common problem with throwing charges from a powder measure is consistency. It is helped immensely by powder choice. If you use a powder with smaller grains it often ends up metering better. Varget has pretty small grains but there are powders with smaller grains.

All Lee equipment is usually innovative (almost to a fault like their string pull trim tool!!!!) but flawed in their materials selection (plastic?). Dump the Lee autodisk powder measure.

Buy anyone of the nicely made powder measures from RCBS or Hornady or Lyman or Redding. Most can be set up to deliver the powder accurately measured through the die at one of the stations of the turret press or on the edge of the bench for block powder delivery (a batch of cartridges setupright in a block and moved under the powder measure one at a time).

Lee stuff is inexpensive but often flawed. Graduate to better choice of powder measure. You won't be sorry. You might also consider a digital scale, as well, as it increases the speed of powder measurement by a large factor.

LDBennett

#4 ·