Left handed .22

Discussion in '.22-Rimfire Forum' started by clichedusername, Sep 20, 2011.

1. clichedusername

clichedusername New Member

Hello, I am a very novice shooter and even newer to this forum. I have recently decided to purchase my first rifle (after shooting one for the first time) and joined this forum to seek assistance. I have read the many "First .22" threads in the archives, and am hesitant to start a new one... yet here it is.
    I am hoping to teach myself how to shoot, and I would prefer to acquire to left hand shooting .22 rifle. The general consensus appears to be that either a Marlin 60 or Ruger 10/22 are the best novice rifles. Are there any left handed variants of these basic rifles in production? The gentleman helping me in Bass Pro Shops today told me that the only left handed .22 rifles he had started at five hundred plus dollars.
    Since, in reality, I do not know how to shoot, should I suck it up and buy a normal rifle? Or are there options that I am not aware of yet?
    Thank you for your time and patience in reading this and look forward to your expertise.
  2. garydude

garydude Member

Well Mr. C, I'm a southpaw as well and all my rifles and pistols are right handed, with one exception. It's a high standard 22 that I acquired with sweet left handed target grips, but everyone else wants to shoot it so I put the original grips back on it.

If you are looking for a 22 rifle then consider a lever action gun because it could be shot equally well with either hand. But I've shot 10-22s with no problems at all too. It's like most things in this right handed world; just a little compensation gets the job done.

If you have any friends that shoot most likely they will have a 22 around that they could let you try. Most every shooter has at least one in their arsenal.

Good luck and welcome to the forum.:dance:
  3. CampingJosh

CampingJosh Moderator