Look at these- tell me what you think

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by newby, Sep 11, 2009.

1. newby

newby New Member

These are some spent cartridges that I shot today. I am new to reloading and I try to inspect EVERYTHING to make sure that I dont tear up my gun or worse. I think I have a good recipe that works but would like to know why I am getting this shape on my primers.

Here is the skinny-
    .40 cal- shot through Berretta PX4 Storm
    180 grn Gold Dot JHP
    4.9 grns of Green Dot
    CCI Pirmer
    OAL- 1.123

Everything cycled fine (only a few stove pipes- 2 out of 45 bullets fired- but this gun is VERY picky and stovepipes with everything other than Winchester)

Attached Files:

2. Big ugly

Big ugly New Member

Firing pin may be hitting it too deep, I have never seen that before.
  3. Alpo

Alpo Well-Known Member

It's called cratering. It's an overpressure sign. Primer cap is flowing into the firing-pin hole. Might not mean overpressure. Might just mean you need a primer with a thicker cap. But usually means overpressure.

About 2/3 to 3/4 the way down this page there is a section called "Pressure". Has some good stuff on it. http://38super.net/Pages/Factory2.html

Nice article here about dirty barrels raising pressure, and showing cratered primer. http://accurateshooter.wordpress.com/2007/09/16/barrel-fouling-and-pressure/
  4. Alpo

Alpo Well-Known Member

I checked three load manuals and the Alliant website. Only Lee has loads using Green Dot. Even Alliant does not list loads for Green Dot. I think you might think about changing powder.
  5. woolleyworm

woolleyworm Active Member

Which CCI primers were they? And just my .02, but if i have a load that stovepipes 2 out of 45; it's back to the drawing board or time to have some fine tuning done on the gun.