looking for a press

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by sorral, Feb 26, 2010.

1. sorral

sorral New Member

I am going to be purchasing my first reloading set up soon. I read reviews of different equipment, and wonder what to get. I am leaning toward Lee because of price. I read some reviews and people either love them or hate them. My shooting instructor said to wait and get a higher quality, but with the price of ammo, I want to get started loading...I have seen a lee turret press at Midway. the whole kit is less than $120, and after reading reviews, will cost me another $80 for the accessories needed to load both .45acp, and .223.

Asking, I would like to hear from those of you who have used Lee, and other brands. Is it worth it to get the Lee, or should I save up another $100 to get an RCBS single stage?

Thanks all
  2. WildcatFan

WildcatFan New Member

Sorral, I'm new to reloading. I received my RCBS Rock Chucker single stage pack for Christmas and I love it. I'd put $50 a paycheck each pay day and buy it in a month instead of the Lee.

Welcome, and have fun.
  3. RustyFN

RustyFN Member

Curious what your reason is for buying the RCBS over the Lee?

Sorral with the RCBS you will be loading around 50 rounds per hour. With the Lee classic turret around 200 rounds per hour. You decide which press will better fit your needs. Neither will make better ammo than the other. If loading a lot of pistol ammo I would not want to have to do it on a single stage press. Also look at the Lee classic turret instead of the deluxe turret.
  4. old semperfi

old semperfi Active Member

i live in southern indiana,old country boy at hear