Looking for advice on Walther PP

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by George W, Dec 1, 2009.

1. George W

George W New Member

I am an amateur collector of WWII firearms looking for some sage advice and knowledge on a Walther PP I purchased a year or so ago. The SN is 318869P on both the right side of the slide forward and just below ejection port. The frame is the same SN and it is on the right side just behind the trigger and is stamped perpendicular to the slide. The barrel has an Eagle over N (maybe) right in the ejection port area. Right below on the slide is the same stamped marking but not as crisp. On the left side the slide carries the Walther banner followed by "Waffenfabrik Walther, Zella-Mehlis (Thur)". Under this is "Walther Patent 7.65 X" (maybe on the X -hard to tell even at 10X magnification). There are two additional stampings on the left side. On the frame just behind the trigger and below the mag release is "WaA359" under a eagle. Just above the mag release is the same eagle stamping but without the acceptance stamp. There are no other markings inside or out. The grips are black plastic with the Walther Banner with some small nicks and wear, but no cracks. It has a 60 degree safety/decock on the left side that works very smothly, Bore is very good. I'm no expert on blueing but I would have to say wear at the muzzel, top front sight, and some burnishing on the backstrap but other than that it is all there just kind of dull and flat looking. Lastly the milling marks on both the barrel and frame are clearly visible, but smoth to the touch. I was looking to purchase a decent example of a wartime PP that I could shoot and enjoy, l paid $500. I like it so much it is my daily carry. Given the above is it truly a wartime (1940-1945) German Walther PP and where and when was it made if that can be known?
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2009
  2. RJay

RJay Well-Known Member