Looking for advice...

Discussion in 'Black Powder Shooting / Muzzleloaders / Handguns' started by Hawke, Feb 19, 2011.

1. Hawke

Hawke Member

Hello, all~

I am pretty new to blackpowder and muzzleloading. I would be very grateful for any advice anyone can provide with regard to the following:

I want a flintlock rifle or smoothbore musket. I have seen some attractive-looking repro muskets offered for sale by Middlesex Village Trading Co., Loyalist Arms, Military Heritage, and Veteran Arms. I know that most, if not all, of these guns are made in India and are stocked with 'rosewood' - teak and the like, but they seem reasonably well-built and I am not looking for perfection as far as historical accuracy is concerned. I plan to use the flintlock I purchase for hunting and practice. My self-imposed price range is up to $700, so most of the Pedersoli pieces are out of the question (which is fine because I tend to be wary of Italian-made stuff unless it's a sports car.)

What recommendations can you make? I am really leaning toward a smoothbore since I already have a percussion Enfield rifle. Has anyone had any experience with any of the companies I've mentioned, or the guns they sell? I've narrowed it down to either a Model 1777 French Infantry Pattern or the 1756-ish Brown Bess Long Land Pattern (with the brass nose cap.)

Also, any advice anyone can provide with regard to aiming one of these cannons would be much appreciated. I have no experience aiming a gun without sights. I know that, in the earlier years, the British army actually discouraged aiming in favor of rate-of-fire, but I also learned that during the F&I War there was a period where troops were encouraged to learn to aim, at least to a degree.

Again, I would be very grateful for any advice my experienced peers would care to provide.

Best regards all,
    Hawke
  2. imray

imray New Member