Looking to get a Remington R700

Discussion in 'Large-Bore/Small-Bore Rifle/Shotgun' started by Sniper_Wolf_666, May 5, 2012.

1. Sniper_Wolf_666

Sniper_Wolf_666 New Member

I am looking at getting a R700 and Building it to the same specs as the Marine/Army M40/M24. One question I had tho, as I was looking at some custom chassis', was how to tell teh difference between short and long action, as 90% of the custom chassis' I have found are meant for the R700 Short-Action. As well as what the main differences are in performance and what not, between Short and Long Action. Sorry if this is a newb question. I've been shooting for a long time, but just recently started getting really into it and all the technical aspects. I am a musician and at the studio I work at, a lot of them are into shooting, and its renewed my interest since I finally have people to go with (and plus I have my own place now, and my mom never let me have guns in her house, I had to hide the 9mm and SKS I owned for the last couple years I lived there haha)

I was also wondering if someone could give me some more information on what the exact specs and customization that the Marines/Army do to the R700 when they get them from Remington.

What I do know, is the -

Barrel is Made of 416R Stainless Steel. The bore twist is 1-turn-in-11.25 inches and the rifling is five radial lands and grooves (5-R) with a right-hand (RH) twist.

But I am not sure if they do any mods/customization to the Action and bolt head/carrier itself ?

My brother is a UH-60 BlackHawk pilot in the Army and I have asked him to find out for me (at least what he can, not sure if everything they do is allowed to be known outside of the sniper community), but he's hella busy and hasn't found out yet.
    Last edited: May 5, 2012
  2. Silencer

Silencer Well-Known Member

Why? You can custom build your own bolt-action rifle.

Look up Surgeon actions and Rock Creek barrels. My personal favorites.
  3. Airdale

Airdale Member