Lots of bullets to pull

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by johnsxdm, Nov 3, 2012.

1. johnsxdm

johnsxdm New Member

Learned the hard way today why you are supossed to make samples!! I got a new Loadmaster 2 weeks ago and got it all set up and dialed in and working like a clock, all thanks to the great vidieos on you-tube. So I set up and away I went. 100 rounds 115gn FMJ with Accu #7, 100 rounds with Ramshot Zip, 100 rounds 124gn FMJ with Accu #7, 100 rounds with Zip. Went to the range today with the wife and none of the loads were strong enough to eject. (OK,, 9 out of 10 would not eject) I guess I won't be using the "starting load" any more, maybe mid-range. I knew better about making so many,,its just was you get setup and going 100 rounds is nothing! Te day was not a total loss though,,,, I did bring 2 boxes of factory ammo just incase!
  2. garydude

garydude Member

Welcome John!

Been there and done that too! What I usually do is load maybe 5 at the starting load, then move up in increments to mid-range and load more there (30 or so, depends on the caliber). I fire the beginning rounds, look for signs of trouble, and go up from there. I haven't ever had problems with any rounds up to mid-range but I have had a few show problems not much more than that.

Sounds like you did everything else right though. No failures to fire, failures to feed?
  3. johnsxdm

johnsxdm New Member

I did have a few FTFires. I'm using Remington primers because everyone on the web seems to be out of stock on CCI. The few that did not fire were dimpled nice from the firing pin, I just reloaded them and they fired on the second go around. I had no issue with feeding into the chamber. I run all my finished rounds through a Lymann cartridge guage and visual inspection.
  4. garydude

garydude Member