Lyman turrent press problems.

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by green river, Jun 18, 2009.

1. green river

green river New Member

I have been reloading with a Lyman turrent press for about 20 years. I bought it new and since I have owned it, it has had slop in the turrent. It especialy a problem while sizing rifle cases, if I don't jam a metal shim in the crack between the turrent and the support tab the shell holder will never touch the die causing the cartriges to be to tight in the chamber. If I run the die down further to make up for the slop the shell holder and die are not square, you can see light on one side and none on the other. I sent a message to Lyman recently reported my problem and they said it was in fact a problem with these presses and they had no fix it. Well...I know there must be a fix and I already have some ideas, just wanted to know if you guys have the same problem and what you did about it.

Thanks for your time!
    David
  2. Haligan

Haligan Well-Known Member

I think I have the same press that you are describing. I've noticed what you describe and it's never been a problem. Bolt action, semi auto handguns, everything.

Mabe get a single stage press you could use only for sizing.
  3. green river

green river New Member

Do you run your die down extra far to take up the extra slop?
  4. bntyhntr6975

bntyhntr6975 Member

Both of my Lyman turret presses have a screw behind the turret to lock it in place. This removes any slop or flex of the turret. I have had no problems with these presses, regardless of what I'm loading at the time. When properly used, this press will turn out near perfect ammo. I have more variation in the dies than I do in the press.
  5. 220combat

220combat New Member

I am reloading on a Lyman T-Mag and a Lyman All American. Both press are rock solid. Does your press use a washer under the turret? If so, maybe you need a thimmer washer to lower the turret closer to the support.