M1 Garand question

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by ardtxus, Sep 26, 2012.

1. ardtxus

ardtxus New Member

I just inherited an old M1 Garand and I am just starting to learn to reload. Can someone plse suggest some "off-the-shelf" ammo for it so I can play around with it and get some brass for reloading. I made the mistake of trying some hunting ammo (before I knew better) that was a little too strong. I checked the op rod and everything appears to be okay. thanx
  2. aa1911

aa1911 Active Member

gas guns need some special attention to bullet weights, too big can strain them; a box of ammo is not going to damage it most likely so I doubt you're in any trouble.

Lake City military ammo is king but also hard to aquire or too expensive for most folks.

If you are wanting to reload, I would suggest just getting your hands on some new brass, these things destroy brass and don't expect (or try) to reload shells coming out of this thing more than 3-4 times.

The brand of brass doesn't matter so much as your loading techniques, luckily '06 brass is extremely plenitful and common so you shouldn't have much trouble.

I know American Eagle has stuff for the .308 that is decent enough to get brass from but I think you're better off just buying new brass if you're wanting to reload.

Welcome!
  3. B27

B27 New Member

Federal, under their American Eagle line makes a load tailored for the Garand.
    Has a pic of the M1 right on the box and everything!:)

More importantly, it is loaded with propellants that will not burn so quickly your peak pressure hits while the guns' action is still catching up with it.

You can probably find this cheaper somewhere by the case lot-

http://www.natchezss.com/product.cfm?contentID=productDetail&prodID=FAAE3006M1

[​IMG]

That's some of that gorgeous Danish M2 from a few years back.
    I'm saving about 1000 rounds for the zombie apocalypse.
    And .....junk.......
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2012
  4. LDBennett