Magnum Primers???

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Snakedriver, Sep 9, 2009.

1. Snakedriver

Snakedriver New Member

I've been reloading my ammunition for over 25 years and have been very happy with the accuracy and performance of my home-made rounds. I've always used standard primers for my pistol and small rifle rounds, but now the new manuals are calling for "magnum" primers in most loads. This seems wasteful in small caliber rounds like .223 Rem.. What's your opinion???:confused:
  2. 312shooter

312shooter Active Member

One good thing is, they seem to be the same price, it gives you the ability to reduce powder load and save a bit. Also availability is a bit better than standards because alot of reloaders feel as you do - using magnums is a waste or believe that magnum primers are only for magnum ammunition, dont be afraid to work up a load with them- if you have some data, I did with .308 and was really satistfied, particularly when large standard primers were 3 months backordered and the magnums were available immediately. Good Luck.
  3. Rocket J Squirl

Rocket J Squirl New Member

According to CCI, if your not loading 60 grains in a large rifle, they are a waste of time. You get more pressure without more FPS return.

I dont know what it is for pistol and small rifle, but I bet its a long the same line.

Compressed loads should work better.
  4. 312shooter

312shooter Active Member

I shot 50 rounds of each, standard and magnum CCI primers, each with the same Accurate Arms 2520 powder load, under a Hornady 168 BTHP through my chrony via my M1A. I gained exactly 100 fps (93fps low to 108fps high) with the magnum primered loads. This data came from the Speer Load Manual #14.

The Speer manual shows magnum primers are used to attain their data for a 55gr bullet in .223 for the following powders: Win 748, AA2520, BL-C2, and H335.
  5. Bindernut

Bindernut Well-Known Member