making wads

Discussion in 'Black Powder Shooting / Muzzleloaders / Handguns' started by bp44, Jan 6, 2011.

1. bp44

bp44 New Member

I recently started shooting bp revolvers and have started casting my own roundballs and now I want to start making my own wads to get away from the mess of grease in the cylinder. I have read alot on using felt but cant really find any info on vegetable fiber. Can you punch and lube this stuff the same as felt and does it work as well as felt in preventing chain fires? Any information on vegetable fiber would be greatly appreciated.
  2. Old Grump

Old Grump New Member

Little hut in the woods near Blue River Wisconsin
    If you are using the right size projectile you will never ever have a chain fire with or without grease and/or wads from fire leaping from one cylinder to another. It cannot happen. If you shave lead when you seat the ball and it is tight all the way round so no powder can leak out you cannot have a chain fire from the front.

That being said nipples are critical. Use the wrong size or fit it on the nipple poorly and one can come off. You can then have a chain fire. Inconvenient, maybe even uncomfortable but unlikely to be overly destructive. If a nipple falls off stop and correct the problem before you fire another round. If it happens again double check to see if you are using the right caps for those nipples, you may need to change one or the other.
  3. jjmitchell60

jjmitchell60 Active Member

Raised in Buzzard Roost near Frog Town in hillls o