Manurhin Walther PPK (7.65mm)

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by momo786, Sep 20, 2010.

1. momo786

momo786 New Member

Hi All!

Thanks for an awesome and informative forum!

Looking to get some info on a PPK I inherited from my dad. Wasn't sure if I should post this under the other PPK threads, as I couldn't find a thread specifically relating to the Manurhin versions.

Been doing quite a bit of research on PPK's recently. As per the thread title, I have a Manurhin PPK (7.65mm), blued with brown grips, serial number 289553, with St Etienne proof marks. I have the box, two magazines, Walther target, and "BANC D’EPREUVE OFFICIEL" certificate. No user manual or leather holster though.

It's still in a fairly good condition. My dad bought it many years ago, and hardly used it...if he shot 200 rounds that would be alot. The finish is still very good; using the other pic's I've seen here as a reference, I would assume about 90% (but I'm no expert). Has a bit of the usual wear near the muzzle from holstering, and a few minor scratches. No sign of rust/pitting on the gun or in the barrel.

My dad changed the grip to black rubber one's, but I still have the original Manurhin grips, which is still in excellent condition.

Will try to post pic's, hopefully it works. Sorry about the quality...only had a cellphone available:eek:

I have two questions:
    1) What would be the approximate date of manufacture? From my research thus far, Manurhin-stamped versions were made between 1969 and 1984. Based on the serial number, I assume mine would be after the mid-70's.

2) What would the approximate value be?

Thanks in advance!
    Mo:cool:

Attached Files:

2. Jim K

Jim K New Member

First, I would put the original grips back on. That will increase the value considerably (or not decrease it, whichever way you look at it).