Marlin lever-action Golden 39-A .22 rifle

Discussion in 'Technical Questions & Information' started by Michael Anderson, Sep 26, 2009.

1. Michael Anderson

Michael Anderson New Member

Guys, my father passed his Marlin 39-A along to me as a gift, to be passed on to my children. :D My father says he purchase it around 1962/63. I've shot with it many times out in the deserts of California, mostly when I was a teenager while hunting rabbits. I love it! It's very accurate w/o a scope, and has never jammed or misfired on me. The action is still very smooth and feeds flawlessly. Cosmetically, however, some small amount of surface rust is beginning to show up along the sides.

I would like to take it to a gunsmith for restoration. Any thoughts or ideas along those lines would be greatly appreciated. I've never done any restoration on a firearm before, just general cleaning.:rolleyes:
  2. Michael Anderson

3. RJay

RJay Well-Known Member

What needs restored on it?, Look at the serial number, the prefix will tell you the year. 1959-S,1960-T.-1961-U. 1962-V, 1963-W. Mine was made in 1949, F- Pre fix, it's worn, still looks good, I would never thing of restoring it. How ever your gun, there's nothing wrong with re bluing it and refinishing the stock. Your not going to lose any collectors value on it, too many made and still being made.:) JMHO
  4. Michael Anderson

I was mainly concerned about the rust. Do you have to re-blue it if the rust is removed?
  5. RJay

RJay Well-Known Member