Mauser 1910 Pocket Pistol? Can anyone I.D? - Photos Included.

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by danrw84, Apr 3, 2006.

1. danrw84

danrw84 New Member

hello everyone.
    I want to try to gather as much information as possible on the Mauser pistol I inherited. My grandfather picked it up in WW2 from a german soldier, there is a story behind it that I was told..
    Anyway, it came back with him, and was wrapped in a ww2 undershirt and stashed away. It was passed to my father, who stumbled upon it again recently, and decided to let me have it.

Heres what I know:
    I know it needs to be cleaned! I took it to a shooting range to give it a whirl, the clip is a bit rough so I went ahead and ordered another one the other day. You guys helped me out here to track one down.

To clean it, what kit would be ideal? I am pretty new to the cleaning of a pistol, but am a fast learner, and have cleaned and oiled an old winchester .22 before.
    Any suggestions on this? Where, what to oil, and clean?

I am posting pics along with it to see if I can learn any background on it, or anything one of you pro's may know. I was told once that it is a WW1 era because of the serial, which would mean it was used again in WW2, or handed down, or maybe sold and repurchased. Who knows.

What are your thoughts?

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

As for the marking on the back -- i found this site which shows police markings, it doesnt look like any of them. http://www.whog.org/ppk/markings.htm

Looking forward to any response. Thanks!

Dan
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2006
  2. Xracer

Xracer *TFF Admin Staff Mediator*

Hi Dan.....welcome to TFF. :)

Actually, I think that your Mauser Model 1910 is actually a Model 1934.....but no matter, as the Models 1910, 1914, and 1934 pretty much the same gun, with just minor changes.

Here's some info on them: http://www.utdallas.edu/~roddy/Links/Mauser/mauser.html