Max cartridge length in bolt action rifles?

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by elkhntr, Sep 14, 2003.

1. elkhntr

elkhntr New Member

I am new to reloading, and need some clarification on max cartridge length. I shoot a Savage Model 116 in 300 Winchester Mag. My reloading manual states that max cartridge length is 3.340 inches. I use Barnes bullets and they recommend seating the bullet .05 off the rifling. In my rifle I can seat bullets at 3.368 without touching the rifling. I turned the die down one turn at a time until I could close the bolt, then blacked the bullet to make sure It's not touching the rifling. Can bullets be seated over the max cartridge lenght in a bolt action rifle and still be safe (assuming they dont touch the rifling)?:confused:
  2. inplanotx

inplanotx New Member

Max OAL is usually there to provide you with the SAAMI standard for the cartridge. A bolt action can be +/- this due to manufacturing tolerances. If you go over max OAL and the cartridge still chambers easily, make sure that it fits in the magazine. If it fits, then there should be no problem.

Welcome to TFF elkhntr, glad to have you aboard!
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2003
  3. elkhntr

elkhntr New Member

thanks

Thank you for the reply. I assumed this was the case, but assumptions are never a good idea while reloading. Thanks again.
  4. Marlin

Marlin *TFF Admin Staff Chief Counselor*

Welome to TFF, elkhntr. :) :) :)

Hope you will join us often and post often. We have a real congenial bunch of knuckleheads here and they are all very knowledgable to boot.
  5. Crpdeth

Crpdeth Active Member

Re: thanks

Amen!

Good to have you aboard.
  6. misiu

misiu New Member

Overall length

Welcome to TFF: