Military surplus powder questions.

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Sparkiewalt, Sep 22, 2012.

1. Sparkiewalt

Sparkiewalt New Member

I am new to the forums, so hello to all. I am also new to reloading. I have been using IMR 4831 for my 7mm mag, 270, 270 WSM. I was looking to try to cut the cost down some. I am looking at some of the military surplus stuff like WC857 and IMR 7383. I just wanted to know if it was a good idea and any recommended loads.
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2012
  2. gdmoody

gdmoody Moderator Supporting Member

Welcome to The Firearms Forum, Sparkle

I do not load any of the three calibers you mentioned, but I did look through a couple of my reloading manuals. Neither WC857 nor IMR7383 are listed for those three calibers in any bullet weight. I think I would stay away from some unknown military powder without it being listed in at least one manual, no matter how cheap it might be.
  3. 312shooter

312shooter Active Member

I was one who could not resist the low cost of pulldown powder, using the recommended start charge on the jug, I managed to ruin the bolt of my M1A with an overpressure situation. Either the jug was mislabeled or the mixed lot of propellant was FUBAR, either way it can be risky business. Yes many may chime in that it works fine, but my advice would be to stick to commercial powder, the savings is relatively small, especially if you and your equipment are subject to unecessary risk.
  4. medalguy

medalguy Member

I load a lot of milsurp powder so let me chime in here. I too don't load the calibers you mentioned, but you can google the milsurp powders and find a civilian equivalent to start you off to determine if they will work for your application.