Min. OAL on Cases

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by starman, Jun 6, 2009.

1. starman

starman New Member

Okay, first I'm new to reloading so I want to follow all data manuals to the "T" I have a question concerning Min OAL on 38 specials. I just loaded 22 rounds of the following, All w/ 3.1grains (30cc) of HD38 powder and
    158g CLSW. These bullet noses are tappered conical with flattened nose. I sitted and crimp each case mouth exactly at the cannelure (groove)
    The manuals says Min. OAL should be 1.475
    with a case only length of 1.155
    Okay all my empty cases are 1.155 so thats good.
    Now here's a sampling of my loads compared to store bought Reloads.

MINE:
    Federal Brass: OAL runs, 1.441 to 1.454
    Federal Nickel: OAL runs, 1.442 to 1.446
    Winchester Brass OAL runs, 1.441 to 1.446

PRECISSION DELTA RELOADS SAMPLE I HAVE:
    A mix of Federal & Winchester Brass & Nickel
    OAL: 1.466 to 1.488

LOCAL GUN SHOP PURCHASED RE-LOADS
    Winchester Brass, OAL 1.451 to 1.548

The bullet nose on the purchased ammo was a tad longer than mine so that makes some of the difference length. However none of the above were the published Min. OAL 1.475

So what gives and should I be concerned with firing my reloads in my S&W model 686 revolver?

Thanks
  2. BobMcG

BobMcG Well-Known Member Supporting Member

Min OAL of 1.475"? You mean max C.O.L. don't you?

MINE:
    Federal Brass: OAL runs, 1.441 to 1.454
    Federal Nickel: OAL runs, 1.442 to 1.446
    Winchester Brass OAL runs, 1.441 to 1.446

Your's look to be OK as they are close to but under the MAX C.O.L. of 1.475"
  3. Alpo

Alpo Well-Known Member