moding - a favorite pastime

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Rowan Francis, Mar 22, 2010.

1. Rowan Francis

Rowan Francis New Member

moding a size lube press - a favorite pastime

I have been reloading 40 S&W for about ten years now , i have been thru many of the ups and downs of reloading for two different guns of the same caliber , as i use a Para P16-40 and my wife has a Bul M5 ..both in 40 S&W ..

I would like to share my latest project , i had just completed a few days of solid bullet head casting , i cast a 200 grain swc , i was stearing at the RCBS size lube machine and at the 5000 head pile of cast heads saying to myself , hmmm i wish there was a way of making sizeing and lubing easier or at least faster ..
    Well after a few days of throwing ideas around i went to go see a mate who uses pneumatics at his factory for making shoes and asked him if i could get a meduim size pneaumatic piston and foot pedal ..
    Well once i had that in hand i went to see my mate who is one of those engineering problem solvers guys , he can look at a problem for days but comes out with the simplest solution to the problem , well he came up with a real dandy .
    I am absolutely loving it , we attached a frame to the RCBS lube machine and removed the handle , the piston is driven by my compressor that is sitting outside that i use for spraypainting and stuff .. and what can i say , it's great , pictures i will attach and i am just trying to upload a little video that i took from my phone ..
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nEwf5oZMd2c

Let me know what you think ..

Cheers

Rowan

Attached Files:

Last edited: Mar 24, 2010
  2. zkovach

zkovach Active Member

thats pretty awesome .. loved the video!
  3. Bindernut

Bindernut Well-Known Member

Now that's a neat bit of automation! Looks like a pretty slick time saver!
    Just make sure you don't get your fingers in the ram when you hit the pedal though! OUCH!!!