The Firearms Forum banner

Muzzeloaders that are not "firearms"

6K views 41 replies 20 participants last post by  CCHolderinMaine 
#1 ·
Hello gents (& ladies),

Are the majority of new-manufacture black powder guns - such as the Thompson Center Arms 6684 Break Open 50 and the Traditions Vortek .50-Caliber Pistol - classified as "firearms" under federal law?

The federal regs say basically that any muzzleloader that doesn't have a receiver that can take (other) barrels that work with rimfire/centerfire cartridges and also doesn't use a modern primer for ignition are NOT firearms.

I am new to the sport and for personal reasons would prefer to own guns that are NOT firearms according to the federal def.

Thanks!

#4 ·
Mo', some states restrict their sale but they are still not classified as firearms federally.

I am not a felon, but want to own black powder guns not classified as firearms for other reasons.

Nobody has answered my question yet. :) The ATF rules DO say some muzzleloaders are firearms - if they have a receiver that can take centerfire barrels or use centerfire ammo etc. - it is confusing.

Does anyone know if the two guns I mentioned are safe in that respect?

See this link:

https://www.atf.gov/firearms/faq/collectors.html

(I am not a felon but I feel for those who are - if the gov had their way I think every citizen would be a felon eventually. The USA has more "criminals" than any society in history!)

#6 ·