1. Get Gear'd Up! Enter to WIN $1000 in gear!

Please Click Here for full details and to enter. You will need to be registered and logged in to view the details and to participate.

Thanks and good luck to everyone

My Ammo Test

Discussion in 'Self Defense Tactics & Weapons' started by dark_falcon27, Jun 20, 2009.

1. dark_falcon27

dark_falcon27 New Member

Well, I hear alot about what is the best ammunition for self defense. I myself have asked the same questions. I know the cops here in my town carry Speer Gold Dot's in Sig 226s. Well just out of curiosity I bought few types of popular self defense ammo. I fired all rounds out of my HK USP .40 and retrieved them out of a bullet catch I constructed out of phone books. Below are the pictures and a link to my video on youtube explaining the results. I am by no means an expert, and am learning more every day. Thanks for looking. The bullets in the picture (after impact) are from L-R Speer Gold Dots, Winchester WB FMJ (control group to compare penetration), Powerball (mean little bullet), and Federal Premium Self Defense.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

My Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J89c2hRdqs8
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2009
  2. woolleyworm

woolleyworm Active Member

good vid, I carry hyrda-shoks, but I may be looking more at the powrball after seeing that. I guess I'm going to have to do a little research and see what they'll do in bal-gel. Always interesting to see someone else's research results. I plan on doing some of my own when my .327 gets here..... If I can find any ammo. I need some factory ammo so that I'll have some brass to reload. Only found a couple rounds to scrounge at the range so far, I've used those for set-up cases.
  3. OBrien

OBrien New Member

Nice video. I really thought gold dots would of opened up a lot more than they did.
  4. carver

carver Moderator

DAV, Deep in the Pineywoods of East Texas, just we