My review/opinion of my Stoegar Cougar!

Discussion in 'Centerfire Pistols & Revolvers' started by hoodedmonk, Jan 23, 2012.

1. hoodedmonk

hoodedmonk New Member

So I bought a new Stoegar Cougar about a week ago and finally got to shoot it Yesterday(Sunday) I put 100 rounds through it. I want to start out by saying I'm pretty new to Semi autos so bare with me. I've shot a few and this is only the third one I've ever owned. Anyways for what it's worth here we go! The gun performed excellent as far as mechanical is concerned, 0 stove pipes and 0 failure to feed no jams ect. for the first 100 rounds ever through the gun. The magazine/clip was a bear to get 15 rds. in for the first 50 or so. I finally did get'er done though. The weather could have played a part though, it was snowing outside and my hands were freezing lol. Recoil was about the same as the Taurus I owned a few years back I was expecting it to be a little smoother but it has been a few years since I've shot anything other than my 22mag revolver so it could just be me. The trigger was on the stiff side in double action mode but pretty good in single. I have heard from others on this site that it takes about 300 rds. for the trigger to get really smooth but again just to be clear, it wasnt bad. I will have to get back to everyone on Accuracy becase at first I couldnt hit the sie of a barn with it but the last 15 rds I shot I was starting to shoot it a little better. I hit a coulple of clay Pigeons with it at about 10 yds.(Pigeons were on the ground sticking out of the snow) I will get back out there again this weekend and with any luck the weather will be a littlle better. Breaking down the gun to clean was a breeze and it went back together easily and without any Hick-ups. (thank you you tube) It is a little on the Heavy side as far as carry and I will probably by another gun to put my conceal and carry permit to good use, but I think this gun should serve me well for a home defense and camping partner.