Nail Polish on Sights?

Discussion in 'Centerfire Pistols & Revolvers' started by gunnewb666, Sep 10, 2004.

1. gunnewb666

gunnewb666 New Member

I was looking into getting something like the "bright sights" where you paint colors or "ghost paint" for night time on the standard 3 white dot combat sights as an alternative to trijicon or tritium. Someone told me that colored nail polish works just the same as bright sights. Is this true? Anyone ever use this on their gun? seems like it might damage it but I dunno I'm a newb
  2. frosty

frosty New Member

Hello Gunnewb666,

First,... welcome to the TFF! :)

Second, make damn sure that when you do this you are positive you have no problem in doing this "little touch up".

If you decide to you will need the following:

tooth pick (to apply the polish)
    cotton balls (3 or 4)
    nail polish (nice bright color)
    nail polish remover ( mistakes for shakey hands)
    paper plate ( to protect the table you are working on)

O.k.

Here we go! Take the tooth pick and dip into the nail polish just enough to get the very tip wet. No...you do not want a drop on the tip of the tooth pick. Now very gently and smoothly (no caffeine please) apply the nail polish where you want it. You are essentialy painting with the tip.

If you make a mistake just dab a little nail polish remover on a cotton ball and gently remove the nail polish. !WARNING! Nail polish remover may affect the blueing or finish of a fire arm. BE EXTREMELY CAREFUL AT THIS POINT! It may remove the original sights of the weapon.

Now stop. Take a look at your work. If you are satisfied then stop. Wait till it dries and take the pistol outside and hold it at arms length. Do this in the shade and in direct sun light to see how your eyes will "catch the sights". Do this late in the evening also when there is just a little sunlight left to see about 40 ft clearly. If the sights are "catchable", then your job is done.