NC: Star Chamber Bill Would Authorize Firearms Confiscation

Discussion in 'The Constitutional & RKBA Forum' started by WAGCEVP, Jul 9, 2003.

  1. WAGCEVP

    WAGCEVP New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Georgia
    Star Chamber Bill Would Authorize Firearms Confiscation
    -- Please call your state legislators in opposition to SB 919

    Gun Owners of America E-Mail/FAX Alert
    8001 Forbes Place, Suite 102
    Springfield, Virginia 22151
    703-321-8585 / FAX: 703-321-8408

    July 9, 2003


    A dangerous threat to your gun rights is steamrolling toward the
    governor's desk, and your help is needed to stop it!

    In the name of preventing domestic violence, this bill would disarm
    decent citizens for mere shouting matches that occur at home -- and
    would allow confiscation of firearms despite the fact that an
    individual has NOT been convicted of any crime!

    This bill has already passed the House, and is now on the Senate
    calendar where it can be voted on at any time. SB 919 would
    authorize a court to seize the firearms, ammunition, and permits of
    a person following a "star chamber" proceeding. In English history,
    the Court of Star Chamber operated outside of the common law courts,
    and met in secret -- while becoming a political weapon that meted
    out punishment against the king's opponents.

    In SB 919, Senator Tony Rand (D-Cumberland) would bring this brand
    of stealth judicial hearings to North Carolina for the purpose of
    confiscating firearms. In a secret session, the individual
    threatened with the deprivation of his rights and the seizure of his
    property would have no notice and no right to appear.

    In many divorce cases, attorneys seek out protective orders as a
    matter of course to give their clients a leg up during the divorce
    proceeding. The result, if SB 919 becomes law, is that people can
    have their guns confiscated without a trial, without a jury -- in
    short, without real due process of law.

    Following the expiration of any "protective" order prohibiting a
    person from possessing a firearm or ammunition, the individual is
    authorized to "request" the return of his seized firearms or other
    property, but the firearms may not be returned to the owner unless
    the court orders their return.

    Thus, the mere expiration of the "protective" order does not restore
    an individual's right to retrieve his property.

    The firearms owner may petition a court for the firearms' return
    within 90 days after the "protective" order has expired. And,
    although a court is required to consider a number of factors during
    the hearing on that motion, it is not REQUIRED to return the
    firearms, no matter what the circumstances.

    The court may order that the firearms be "disposed of" merely
    because the owner, for financial or other reasons, fails to comply
    with a timetable for the payment of fees or the petition for return.

    In addition, the defendant is required to pay for "storage" of his
    seized property. The sheriff is not responsible to the owner of the
    firearms if they are lost or destroyed, even through negligence, or,
    for that matter, malice.

    Finally, in an incredible act of hypocrisy, S.B. 919 explicitly
    exempts police who beat their wives.

    ACTION: Please send your state senator a letter and ask him to
    oppose SB 919. A roster and pre-written message are included
    below for your convenience. If you don't know who your senator is,
    go to http://www.gunowners.org/activism.htm and plug in your zip
    code under Elected Officials, then click on the State link.


    ---- Pre-written letter ----

    Dear __________:

    I urge you to oppose SB 919. In the name of preventing domestic
    violence, this bill would disarm decent citizens for mere shouting
    matches that occur at home -- and would allow confiscation of
    firearms despite the fact that the individual has NOT been convicted
    of any crime!

    Interestingly, a bill that is concerned with domestic violence
    exempts police -- which would lead one to believe this bill is more
    about "gun control" than it is concerned with real safety.

    This bill could allow a person's firearms to be confiscated because
    of minor pushing-shoving incidents or shouting matches in the home.
    And even though the gun owner can petition to get the firearms
    returned when a restraining order is lifted, there is NOTHING in
    this bill that REQUIRES the return of the firearms, no matter what
    the circumstances.

    Adding insult to injury, the court may order that the firearms be
    "disposed of" merely because the owner, for financial or other
    reasons, fails to comply with a timetable for the payment of fees or
    the petition for return.

    In addition, the defendant is required to pay for "storage" of his
    seized property. The sheriff is not responsible to the owner of the
    firearms if they are lost or destroyed, even through negligence, or,
    for that matter, malice.

    Again, please oppose SB 919.

    Sincerely,


    ****************************

    North Carolina State Senate Roster

    Dis Pty Name Phone E-mail

    01 D Basnight 919-733-6854 Marcb@ncleg.net
    02 D Thomas 919-733-6275 scottt@ncleg.net
    03 D Jenkins 919-715-3040 Clarkj@ncleg.net
    04 D Holloman 919-715-3032 Robertho@ncleg.net
    05 D Moore 919-733-5953 Tonym@ncleg.net
    06 D Hargett 919-715-3034 Cecilh@ncleg.net
    07 D Kerr 919-733-5621 Johnk@ncleg.net
    08 D Soles 919-733-5963 Rcsoles@ncleg.net
    09 R Ballantine 919-715-2525 Patrickb@ncleg.net
    10 D Albertson 919-733-5705 Charliea@ncleg.net
    11 D Swindell 919-733-5655 abs@ncleg.net
    12 R Smith 919-733-5850 Freds@ncleg.net
    13 D Weinstein 919-733-5651 Davidw@ncleg.net
    14 D Malone 919-715-8363 Vernonm@ncleg.net
    15 R Carrington 919-733-5653 Johnca@ncleg.net
    16 D Reeves 919-715-6400 Ericr@ncleg.net
    17 R Stevens 919-715-3030 Richards@ncleg.net
    18 D Gulley 919-715-3036 Wibg@ncleg.net
    19 D Rand 919-733-9892 Tonyr@ncleg.net
    20 D Lucas 919-733-4599 Jeannel@ncleg.net
    21 D Shaw 919-733-9349 Larrys@ncleg.net
    22 R Blake 919-733-4809 Harrisb@ncleg.net
    23 D Kinnaird 919-733-5804 Elliek@ncleg.net
    24 R Webster 919-733-5745 Hughw@ncleg.net
    25 D Purcell 919-715-0690 Williamp@ncleg.net
    26 R Berger 919-733-7659 philbe@ncleg.net
    27 D Hagan 919-733-5856 Kayh@ncleg.net
    28 D Dorsett 919-715-3042 Katied@ncleg.net
    29 R Tillman 919-733-5870 Jerryt@ncleg.net
    30 R Garwood 919-733-5742 Johnga@ncleg.net
    31 R Horton 919-733-7850 Hamh@ncleg.net
    32 D Garrou 919-733-5620 Lindag@ncleg.net
    33 R Bingham 919-733-5665 stanb@ncleg.net
    34 R Brock 919-715-3050 Andrewb@ncleg.net
    35 R Shubert 919-733-5739 Ferns@ncleg.net
    36 R Hartsell 919-733-7223 Fletcherh@ncleg.net
    37 D Clodfelter 919-715-8331 Danielc@ncleg.net
    38 D Dannelly 919-733-5955 Charlied@ncleg.net
    39 R Rucho 919-733-5650 Bobr@ncleg.net
    40 R Pittenger 919-733-5707 Robertp@ncleg.net
    41 R Sloan 919-715-0706 Rbs@ncleg.net
    42 R Forrester 919-733-5708 Jamesf@ncleg.net
    43 D Hoyle 919-733-5734 Davidh@ncleg.net
    44 R Allran 919-733-5876 Austina@ncleg.net
    45 R Foxx 919-733-5743 Virginiaf@ncleg.net
    46 D Dalton 919-715-3038 Walterd@ncleg.net
    47 D Queen 919-733-3460 Joeq@ncleg.net
    48 R Apodaca 919-733-5880 Toma@ncleg.net
    49 D Metcalf 919-715-8361 Stevem@ncleg.net
    50 R Carpenter 919-733-5875 Robertc@ncleg.net
  2. Shizamus

    Shizamus New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    888
    Location:
    Vermont
    We shall bind them with the chains of the Constitution.

    Where is the Constitution on this one ??

    Thousands of gun owners should be strapping
    on their sidearms or long arms and start marching
    to the Capitol and start a mass evacuation of all
    these pinko commies and find them a new home.
    Traitors committing Treason !
    How many to a 100' of rope ? :mad: :mad:


    GUN LAWS ARE ENFORCED AT GUNPOINT ! :mad:
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2003
  3. Evilahole

    Evilahole New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    347
    Unless things quickly change, Shiz, I fear that day is quickly coming.
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
The Constitutional & RKBA Forum I can't take it anymore...so I started a blog. Mar 20, 2013
The Constitutional & RKBA Forum Starbucks supports gun ownership! Feb 22, 2013
The Constitutional & RKBA Forum It's a start chicago. now NY Dec 11, 2012
The Constitutional & RKBA Forum A new round starts: Bloomberg and the Superbowl anti-gun commercial Feb 4, 2012
The Constitutional & RKBA Forum Anti-Gun Boycott @ Starbucks. Jan 31, 2012

Share This Page