The Firearms Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Need 9mm case length advice.

7K views 26 replies 14 participants last post by  MPistone 
#1 ·
Hello to the Firearms Forum -

My name is Lloyd Sullivan and I am very new to reloading. I am going to order a Hornady LnL AP press thanks to the FANTASTIC videos that 76Highboy produced. Thank you for your efforts, they are much appreciated. I have read everything I can get my hands on and watched every video I can find. I do not even want to set up a press until I am confident that I am at least in reloading survival mode. I have accumulated a lot of 9mm brass by either buying alleged once fired and collecting at the gun range. I am finding that I have case lengths that range from .737 to .759. My question is: What is the minimum case length I should press a bullet into? My gut instinct is saying at least .745. I have read opinions that say case length doesn't matter, and COL is the only thing to consider. I have 1000 rds. of 125 g. JHP from Precision Delta. Please advise me on these bullets too. I would like to start off with good habits and advice from knowledgeable re-loaders.

Thank you in advance
Lloyd Sullivan

#2 ·
The manuals from the bullet manufacturers all list a trim-to length and a maximum case length. You will get a Hornady manual with the press. You can also get case length gauges that will give you a go-no-go maximum length.

#8 ·
Case "trim to length" makes sense. My Hornady Manual says that is .749 and most of my brass is between .743 and .751. After it is de-capped and resized I will measure them again and have a better handle on my inventory. I have been shooting American Eagle and Blazer Brass from Bulk Ammo.com and best I can measure the unfired cartridges, NONE of them come up to .749 on the brass length. Is it ok to use these?

Lloyd

#11 · (Edited)