The Firearms Forum banner

Need a little help

789 views 9 replies 4 participants last post by  mikld 
#1 ·
I am new to the reloading scene and am looking for some help. I want to reload some 44 magnum. I went on line and bought some 44 magnum 240 grain FP bullets, but am unable to find reloading data for this bullet.

I have found several brands/types of powder that identify that they are for reloading 44 magnum, but none for this bullet type. Is there a major difference between the FP and JFP?
What is a good bullet to start loading the 44 mag with?
I have looked all over the internet and have yet to find anyone with powder in stock. Where is the best place to buy powder?
I am sure that I will have more reloading questions, but thanks in advance for any assistance you may be able to provide.

#4 · (Edited)
Welcome to The Firearms Forum.

The bullet you mention is a very good bullet to start loading .44 mag with. Evidently, you do not own a printed reloading manual. I say that because every manual I have has several different loads for a 240 grain bullet. There is really no difference in a Flat Point and a Jacketed Flat Point. You can even use reloading data for a Jacketed Hollow Point as long as you stay with the 240 grain.

If you had a manual to look at, you could then keep a list of powders that are usable for the 240 grain bullet. I really can't say it enough, you really need to get a manual, if you don't have one. Check with you local gun shops for powder, to me that is the best place to buy it. If you buy one pound from the internet you still have to pay the full haz-mat fees for that one pound.

We are always willing to answer questions. I hesitate to give reloading "recipes" over the internet even though I have done so.

#5 ·