Need a little help

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Newgun123, May 27, 2009.

1. Newgun123

Newgun123 New Member

I am new to reloading and have four guns that i would like to reload for two are hunting rifles in 30-06 and 270 that are mostly used for deer and the other two are varmint/target guns in .204 ruger and .17 remington. I have a press and every thing i need to complete the process of reloading but am not sure of what types of components to buy. I also have plenty of brass. does any one have any recommendations as to what types of powder and bullets i should use?
  2. flannelman

flannelman New Member

Rural Arkansas. But isn't all of Arkansas rural?
    The best thing to do is read up on a load in good manual and then decide what to do from there. I had the same question a few months back as I was just getting into reloading. I read my manual and then bought components based on what I wanted to try and what was available. Components are scarce righ now so it may be a matter of taking what you can get instead of what you want.
  3. 312shooter

312shooter Active Member

Newgun, I strongly suggest buying at least two reloading manuals, these are equally important as all the items involved in making your first completed round, you really should not take on reloading without them. I guarentee you will have plenty of time to read if you don't have primers and powder in hand. Welcome to the forum, you have entered the world of reloading in VERY interesting times for reloaders.
  4. Newgun123

Newgun123 New Member

Thanks for the advice I do have two books that I have been reading and all is going well. I was also wondering if any one had personal experience shooting 30-06 bullets and what they would recommend for deer hunting because there are so many types?