need advice..BP 1851 navy

Discussion in 'Black Powder Shooting / Muzzleloaders / Handguns' started by RugerBob, Nov 3, 2007.

1. RugerBob

RugerBob New Member

hi all, I have been shooting regular single action revolvers for a few years and enjoy it. also reload 45LC for revolvers and rifle. anyway, I just ordered 2 1851 BP navy revolvers from Taylor arms, I am new to black powder and don't know any one who shoots them where I shoot. So , any advice or input would be appriciated. They are 36 cal steel frame, octagon barrel.Thanks in advance all, Bob
  2. polishshooter

polishshooter Active Member

My brass frame 1851 (actually my son's...) uses .375 balls or conicals...the misnomer is that hey were ".36s," they are actually "38s," just like the ".44s" are actually ".45s..."

We never shot much more than 15 grains FFFg Black Powder through ours, and usually kept it around 12, mainly because of the brass frame...with the steel frames you can go a little more.

Generally speaking, you load the powder, then the ball or conical bullet, (it should "shave" a little ring off, which means it is seated tightly, ) then you add a dolop of grease or Crisco on top of the ball in the cylinder to lube it and to seal it against any "crossfire."

I would suggest you send off for a Dixie Gun Works Catalogue, it will be the best $6 you can spend, if you are starting out...

Not ONLY for stuff you can buy, but they have a whole large section on loading and shooting just about anything blackpowder...

I also have a Traditions steel frame 1860, that I shoot 25 grains of FFFg behind a .452 ball or conical...

I have also experimented with "paper" self contained cartridges (they have the "recipe" in the Dixie Catalogue,) but I have found them to be not much faster!

www.dixiegunworks.com
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2007
  3. Polish, was it FFFg or FFg they used for the M4 main gun? I forget. :D;):p